Return to Headlines

MCS Principal of the Year

Montgomery County Schools is proud to announce that Dr. Heather Seawell, Principal of the Montgomery County Early College, has been selected by her peers as the 2018-2019 Principal of the Year, in a program sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wells Fargo.

“Dr. Seawell is incredibly deserving of this prestigious award, stated MCS Superintendent, Dr. Dale Ellis. She is a committed administrator who gives unselfishly of herself to ensure the success of her students, both academically and personally. Her commitment to excellence has been the driving force behind the success of the Early College, and we are fortunate to have administrators like Dr. Seawell leading the way.”

Dr. Seawell has served in the role as principal for eleven years. Prior to being named the principal at the Montgomery County Early College, she served as the principal at East Montgomery High School and Robbins Elementary School. Dr. Seawell holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education with a concentration in Biology from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Master’s degree in School Administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She received her Doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

“I am surprised and humbled to be selected as Montgomery County Schools 2018 Principal of the Year. Being a part of the development of the Early College has shown the value of the team we have in Montgomery County Schools, and the desire our leadership has to see students excel academically and socially. I am so very grateful to the students, parents, staff and community who have all been a part of building our school culture.” Seawell stated after receiving this honor.

Dr. Seawell will now move on to compete with other local award recipients from the Sandhills/South Central Region of the state. After the state selection process is completed, one principal will be selected as the 2019 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year.

This is the 34th year Wells Fargo has sponsored this award. The regional Wells Fargo Principals of the Year receive an award for their school and an award for personal use. The 2019 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year will receive $3,000 for his or her school and $3,000 for his or her personal use.

Regional award recipients will be selected by February 2019 and the 2019 State Wells Fargo Principal of the Year will be announced in the spring of 2019 at a state event in Raleigh.